Feminism

In this day and age, with the push that exists for “women’s rights”, it’s very unpopular to say that one is against what most feminists fight for. I will be the first to say that what feminist have done for women in establishing us as equal to men in intelligence and in ability is good. As a young woman growing up in the 21st century, I know that it has certainly made my life easier. At the same time, though, I think my options for the future are limited.

Yes, read it again. My. Options. Are. Limited.

Really, they are. It’s assumed that I’ll go to work. Even after I marry, whenever that may be, I will work. When I have kids, I’ll be expected to take the year’s maternity leave that is available to me, then return to work when my baby is still in nappies. My child will be raised by its daycare workers, then kindergarten teachers, then preschool, then school.

All through I will be expected to fulfil the role of “super mum”, who is there whenever her kids need her but also fully committed to her job, rising up the corporate ladder. I’ll be up at the crack of dawn each morning to get my kids to school, go to work 9 to 5, collect my kids, get dinner on, help the kids with homework, get them into bed, and do my wifely duties to my husband, even though the only thing I want to do is sleep.

Through this, my house is expected to be tidy, my kids clean, neat, polite and high achieving, my appearance perfect, my job well kept, and my life perfect.

Wow. That sounds so enticing. It’s no wonder that so many women have breakdowns.

Feminists did a good thing in making it okay for women to work instead of staying home, not to mention giving us – mostly – equal pay, but I seriously think that they’ve also made it harder. We do more, while men do about the same amount of work as before.

What do people say when I tell them that this is the last thing I want to do with my life?

“You’ve got so much potential. Why waste it?”

“How are you going to contribute to the world?”

Yeah, loads of options.

I was homeschooled, which means that my mother kept me at home and educated me. She and the millions of women in the western world who chose to do so – not just the ones who homeschool their kids – are ridiculed by working women. They contribute to society by bringing up men and women who will be a help in future, but they don’t work and so are called lazy and stupid.

In this day and age, with youth in revolt, rudeness, etiquette a thing of the past, shouldn’t the women who take an active role in their children’s lives, have a relationship with them, not enmity – and give up all for them! – be given a medal for valour? Or perhaps just showered in praise and thanks? Where is their recognition for this?

Besides, whose job is it to raise children? Is it the state, who is concerned with money only? Is it the school’s, who are already understaffed? Is it the peer group’s, who are the same in age and experience?

That’s Mum’s. That’s Dad’s. And it’s time we realised that.

Leave a Reply

